Radio Amateurs Old Timers Club Australia Inc
Registered No A0042780C

OTN Stewart

Day Award


OTN Stewart Day Award 2017

In 2003 the RAOTC management committee decided to establish an annual award, entitled the OTN Stewart Day Award, in order to commemorate Stewart’s service to the RAOTC in producing OTN magazine over a long period of time.

This award, in the form of a colourful certificate, is to be presented each year to the RAOTC member whose original contribution to OTN has been judged by the management committee to be the best published in that calendar year.

The list of award winners since its inception is as follows:

Arthur Evans VK3VQ
Bill Magnusson VK3JT
Graeme Scott VK2KE
David Dunn VK3DBD
Clive Wallis VK6CSW
Clive Wallis VK6CSW
Bob Crowe VK6CG
John Drew VK5DJ
Lloyd Butler VK5BR
Gerry Wild VK6GW
Winston Nickols VK7EM
Lloyd Butler VK5BR
Herman Willemsen
2016 Robb Gurr VK5RG

Again in 2017, as we have come to expect year after year, there were many excellent contributions published in OTN which were considered for the 2017 award.

However, it was finally decided to present the OTN Stewart Day Award 2017 to Lloyd Butler VK5BR for the high standard of his original articles A history of Parafield Airport and its facilities and History of Leigh Creek and its early radio communications, both of which were published in the September 2017 edition of OTN Journal.

Lloyd has been one of OTN’s more prolific contributors in recent years.

The RAOTC management committee would like to thank all the contributors of material to OTN. Without your invaluable efforts we would not be able to produce such an interesting and popular publication.

Return to home page