Radio Amateurs Old Timers Club Australia Inc
Registered No A0042780C

OTN Stewart

Day Award


OTN Stewart Day Award 2014

In 2003 the RAOTC management committee decided to establish an annual award, entitled the OTN Stewart Day Award, in order to commemorate Stewart’s service to the RAOTC in producing OTN magazine over a long period of time.

This award, in the form of a colourful certificate, is to be presented each year to the RAOTC member whose original contribution to OTN has been judged by the management committee to be the best published in that calendar year.

The list of award winners since its inception is as follows:

2003 Arthur Evans
2004 Bill Magnusson VK3JT
2005 Graeme Scott VK2KE
2006 David Dunn VK3DBD
2007 Clive Wallis VK6CSW
2008 Clive Wallis VK6CSW
2009 Bob Crowe VK6CG
2010 John Drew VK5DJ
2011 Lloyd Butler VK5BR
2012 Gerry Wild
Winston Nickols VK7EM

As in all preceding years, 2014 presented a real challenge to the RAOTC committee because of the large number of excellent contributions published in OTN during the year.

After much discussion, it came down to five finalists – Tony Argentino VK6ATI; Dean Blackman VK3TX; Lloyd Butler VK5BR; Herman Willemsen VK2IXV; and Clive Wallis VK6CSW.

Eventually, after much further deliberation, it was eventually decided to present the OTN Stewart Day Award 2014 to Lloyd Butler VK5BR for his outstanding original articles ‘AM broadcast stations in South Australia’ published in the March 2014 issue of OTN, and ‘Radio and the early DC mains in South Australia’ published in the September 2014 issue of OTN.

The RAOTC management committee would like to thank all contributors to OTN journal. Without their invaluable contributions the RAOTC would not be able to produce such an interesting and popular publication.

Return to home page